“All staff and governors have high expectations about what pupils and sixth-form students can achieve and are fully committed to raising their aspirations and those of their families.”

The Governors’ Role

The Governing Body of the Duchess’s High School is composed of twelve individuals who are all volunteers and who represent the major stakeholders. Apart from the Headteacher, all governors serve for a period of four years. Governors can be re-elected to continue for further service thus giving a degree of continuity to the activities of the Governing body. The Governing Body elects a Chairman and a vice Chairman from its membership. They have extra duties over and above those of other governors.

The Governing Body is responsible for agreeing the strategic direction of the school and the policies within which it operates. They also have the responsibility of agreeing the school budget and then the monitoring of the financial performance against the budget. Governors are there to help and support. They provide advice but can also act as watchdogs in their role as ‘critical friends’. Governors are involved in the recruitment and appointment of staff and also in the performance management of the Headteacher.

The Duchess’s Community High School Governors

Ayres, Mr Peter
Arscott, Mr David
Bosanquet, Mrs Lalage
Clark, Mr James
Hall, Mr Maurice – Headteacher of The Duchess’s Community High School
Ilderton, Mrs Lesley
Johnson, Mr Peter
Milburn, Mrs Rachel
Rae, Mrs Carole
Rennie, Mr Scott
Smith, Mrs Elaine – Chair of Governors
Telfer, Mrs Claire
Walker, Mr Ian
Wilkes, Mr Steve

Governors Website

Governing Body Membership, Personal and Business Interests

Governor Meeting Attendance